Your Camperbug Holiday Reviews

Sydney Camper-1219

Stephen McNeil

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 31, 2014

Stephen McNeil

Bedfordshire, UK

Dear Sue and Jack

Life has been pretty hectic since we got back from our wonderful trip to Yorkshire with Sydney. Just wanted to write a review -

Both Steve and I have always been massive fans of VW camper vans but have never quite gotten round to actually getting our own, so when our beloved Tour de France visited the uk this year we thought it a perfect opportunity to hire one and travel up to Yorkshire with our son Jude, to combine three of our favourite things... Cycling...camping...and campers!!

From the moment we saw Sydney we were in love with her! Her shining green curves melted our hearts immediately and we knew that she would complete our weekend. The journey up to Yorkshire was so comfy and the purr of that engine was something else! Jude travelled up front as co-pilot with his dad and enjoyed looking out of the windowsnoozing the whole way while mummy chilled in the back. We were blown away by how much character these vans really have...people honk their horns and wave on the road...complete strangers come over and start conversations with you about her. Sydney really is a star and an incredible way to travel and to make new friends.

The weekend in Yorkshire was fabulous. Beautiful weather, excellent cycling, fantastic people and to top it all off Steve proposed to me on the Sunday afternoon which was a complete surprise! So Sydney may have a wedding to go to soon if she can make it?! :-)

We just wanted to say a massive thank you to sue and jack for allowing us the privilege of driving their beautiful van and for being fantastic on the rather chaotic morning we arrived to pick her up! We were so very sad to say goodbye to Sydney but are really looking forward to seeing her again very soon!!

Lots of love Steve and Lucy
(July 2014)

Reviewed : July 31, 2014

Poppy-1219

Simon Bevan

Devon, UK

Reviewed : July 28, 2014

Simon Bevan

Devon, UK

There are some things in life you never forget, and trust me spending a few days in a beautiful and fully restored 1964 VW Split-screen campervan is one of them…From the very beginning when we made contact with Camperbug everything flowed so easily, emails exchanged with the owners who made sure we were comfortable and prepared for our adventure ahead, monies sent, contracts viewed and the day soon came when we were ready to pick up Poppy…
I’ve never got the name your vehicle thing, but then I’d never met Poppy before, from the minute we set eyes on her it was clear she has a personality and warrants all the respect and adoration that is bestowed upon her, Poppy suits her and Poppy is perfect in every single way.
Stunningly beautiful inside and out, after a fantastic hand over, we were packed an on our way, the plan was to explore the English Riveiera in Poppy… The sat nav said you will reach your destination in 1 and a half hours, it was soon clear modern technology had obviously never experienced a 1964 Camper, we were warned time often stands still in a classic VW, maybe we didn’t quite stand still, but we were soon totally captured, transported and stuck in Poppy time… and what a fantastic pace of life it is.. no rush, no fuss, no hustle or bustle you learn to quickly take it all in your stride just like Poppy does…
We had a glorious few days exploring, spent quality time as a family, and soon learned what a joy the VW classic club is. Inundated with waves, people wanting to talk, and have their picture with her, Poppy took it all in good faith, she loved it, we loved it and it added a fantastic side to our Holidays…
Facilities in Poppy were exceptional, everything we could and would need was present, Nathan and his wife have done a fantastic job in preparing Poppy for people to enjoy, they were eager to please, offering superb service and really making sure things went smoothly…
When you add the cost of hire, campsites, fuel etc together then we’ve maybe stayed in cheaper 5 star hotels, but trust me we’ve never woken up with such a smile on our faces as we did every morning in Poppy. Throw open the doors, take in the sun, smell the fresh air, lay there in her comfortable bed looking at her stunning original features and it all became clear Poppy was worth every single penny of the experience….

We loved her, we loved it, and we loved the whole experience…Thank You Poppy!!

The only downside to the adventure is 4 days later I’m still sulking because I had to give her back…Until next time….!

Reviewed : July 28, 2014

Fred-danbury-1219

Julie Rogers

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 28, 2014

Julie Rogers

Bedfordshire, UK

I hired Fred as surprise for my friend when she was over visiting from Australia as we spent three weeks in a campervan in Oz. I turned up to pick her up and she was so shocked as Fred definitely looked the part! When we were away, we would often walk back to our camper to find people having a look round the outside so it was a real hit with everyone. The lucky people that own Fred and hire him out were very nice and spent time showing us exactly what did what. We both had a fabulous time!! Julie

Reviewed : July 28, 2014

Bude-1219

Toby Russell

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 27, 2014

Toby Russell

Bedfordshire, UK

We had a great time in Bude. Really helpful and friendly owners.

Reviewed : July 27, 2014

Pearl Campervan-1219

Laura Harris

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 23, 2014

Laura Harris

Bedfordshire, UK

A friendly and helpful couple who managed to fit us in with Pearl at the very last minute! Had a fabulous time in a wonderfully luxurious camper! Would highly reccomend!! :) - Many thanks, Laura and Tom x

Reviewed : July 23, 2014

Domino-1219

Cathy Mellor

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 23, 2014

Cathy Mellor

Bedfordshire, UK

Had a fantastic Time in Domino at the Latitude Festival ! Thank you.

Reviewed : July 23, 2014

Mallard-1219

Lucy Curtis

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 20, 2014

Lucy Curtis

Bedfordshire, UK

We hired Mallard - through this site. We actually hired it to transport us from our wedding ceremony and then camped in it that night. It was the most gorgeous camper van and the company we hired from were really great. We will definitely recommend doing this to everyone we know. Exceeded expectations! :-D

Reviewed : July 20, 2014

Sierra-1971-1219

Sally Gower

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 16, 2014

Sally Gower

Bedfordshire, UK

Hi Camperbug,

We hired Sierra - We had a lovely weekend after a rather disappointing start because of a mix up with the booking times. We eventually sorted that out (although had to pay extra for the night we thought wed already booked) and then managed to enjoy the rest of our time.

The van was lovely and such fun to drive around the New Forest. Luckily wed taken our wellies because there was a huge downpour on the first night (also discovered that the van was not quite water tight!) and we spent the day at the beach enjoying the advantages of driving a campervan (cups of tea by the seaside = ace!)
We loved it so much weve since bought ourselves a VW campervan and are enjoying camping for the rest of the summer :o)

Best wishes,
Sally, Peter, Lucy and Jasper xxx

Reviewed : July 16, 2014

DylanCampervan-1219

Matthew Levington

Cheshire, UK

Reviewed : July 16, 2014

Matthew Levington

Cheshire, UK

Booked as a last minute birthday treat - we had a great family weekend with Dylan.

The kids (girls 4 and 10) loved the adventure of travelling to the Western Lake District for 2 nights in Boot (very remote and very hilly which Dylan negotiated with ease!) after the first day my very well traveled 10 year said "this was the best holiday shed ever had!"

Dylan is in mint condition and has everything on board that youll need - all in perfect condition - Dave provided a very professional service on collection with a full tour of the van and very clear instructions.

Highly recommended for a family holiday!!

Reviewed : July 16, 2014

Lightning-1219

Safiyya Sidat

Lancashire, UK

Reviewed : July 15, 2014

Safiyya Sidat

Lancashire, UK

The Organiser: We hired Lightning for a long weekend – we went to a festival to celebrate our 30th birthdays over the last few months. We really loved the camper - Lightning really made the trip what it was. The customer service was second to none, right from the get-go; all correspondence was responded to promptly and Lightning’s owners were really friendly and approachable – we never felt at any point that we were asking too many questions! The induction by the owner was insightful – thank you so much - you really thought of EVERYTHING which helped the driver amongst us feel more confident about the lengthy drive. It was reassuring that your customer service extended beyond the 400+ miles that we travelled. Lightning was gleaming inside and out, and the awning was easy to pitch (I’ve actually never camped before!). The pop top was easy to put up (and down again!), and the hammocks were comfortable to hang out in (perfect for those deep drunken philosophical conversations in the early hours). Thank you for the added touch of the bottle of fizz for our celebrations – it was a real surprise to us and a really thoughtful gesture.

The driver: Fell in love as soon as I saw Lightning! Couldnt have been more excited to drive my first vw camper! Was surprised at how different the drive was compared to my regular car, however the anxiety soon disappeared and I really enjoyed the experience once I got used to it. The ‘induction’ was more than helpful and I wanted to keep Lighting on the day of return. The hammocks were comfortable to lounge in, and it was a very sad goodbye!

The Passenger: Lightning was a total surprise to me – I had no idea we would be travelling in something I have only ever dreamed of. The original interior was fascinating – really well kept, and I wasnt even embarrassed when the driver stalled the camper in the middle of that HUGE, busy roundabout...because we were always the coolest people on the road!!! Thanks to the two in our group who can keep a secret – it was the best surprise Ive ever had!

The friend’s friend: I had no idea we would be travelling 70’s-style until the group assured me that it really wasnt a joke. I couldnt BELIEVE how smart the camper looked and how much stuff we managed to pack inside it (it appears to be a myth that men travel lighter than women...) There were lots of cubby holes and storage space – the rock n roll bed was comfortable, and putting up the awning was easy peasy. Wouldnt hesitate to do this again! (and yes...the first pic I sent of the van was to my mum...give a guy a break – I was excited!)

The bottom line: Lightning is an absolutely GORGEOUS camper. We really enjoyed our trip. Felt like a real getaway from...LIFE! Thanks a million!

Reviewed : July 15, 2014

Wanda-1219

Nadya Dodd

London, UK

Reviewed : July 11, 2014

Nadya Dodd

London, UK

We hired Wanda for a class camping trip with our 3 kids to WOWO campsite in Sussex. Its a beautiful VW with lots of the original features, well preserved. (our kids loved the fold down cooker & dinky fridge). It drove well too so the motorway driving went better than expected as we could do 65 mph. The awning was bit tricky to keep attached to the van as the weather was windy and rainy but we solved this with some heavy logs holding the awning down at the point where it meets the van.

Reviewed : July 11, 2014

George The T5-1219

Sue Sewart

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 7, 2014

Sue Sewart

Bedfordshire, UK

Our family of 5, 2 adults, 3 children aged 10,9 and 3 hired George for 3 nights to see if we all fit in!
First of all, I would like to just thank Stephanie for being so helpful, answering any query we had before, during and after our trip. We couldnt fault the correspondence and professional way everything was handled.
So, George was great to drive, both on motorway and about town. Easy to park and felt very much like a large MPV. We explored every feature in the van, awning, hammock, pop top roof, in all sorts of weather, heavy rain and sunshine. With 5 people in the van, we soon realised that if there was some sort of order, everything went smoothly. George had far more storage space than we anticipated, and the rear seat was fine for our 3 children. The double bed was also spacious enough for 2 adults. Each of our kids tried a night on the hammock, and had the best night sleep of all!

We were trying George as we are thinking of buying one. the spec on this is very close to one we would go for.
Thanks once again
Sue

Reviewed : July 7, 2014

VWT5 Transporter-1219

Marc Risby

Hertfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 3, 2014

Marc Risby

Hertfordshire, UK

Great rental experience - was really looked after by Nigel - Van had everything we needed and worked brilliantly for a family with 2 children of 5 and 7. Would definitely use again!

Reviewed : July 3, 2014

Cliff-t5silver-1219

jane bullows

Gloucestershire, UK

Reviewed : July 2, 2014

jane bullows

Gloucestershire, UK

Hired cliff - and he was terrific - whole experience well worth it and would definitely go with them again - service superb. Jane

Reviewed : July 2, 2014

Harvey

Adrian Dobney

Essex, UK

Reviewed : July 1, 2014

Adrian Dobney

Essex, UK

Had an awesome time. Harvey is a really nice van. Fun and great to drive. Had everything we needed. Would recommend. The owners a really nice man too.

Reviewed : July 1, 2014

Sarah Davies

London, UK

A fantastic California SE experience - a joy to drive and hang out in.
Thanks!

Reviewed : July 1, 2014

Sunny-primrosebay-1219

Emma Stock

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 1, 2014

Emma Stock

Bedfordshire, UK

My mum and I hired Sunny for 6 days and had an amazing time. The van was exactly as advertised and didn`t give us any problems at all. Ceri the van owner couldn`t have been more helpful and even drove a 20 mile round trip to bring me a spare set of keys, after i had picked the van up. I can`t recommend this van or van owner highly enough. It was a really memorable holiday especially for my mum who at 63 years old had never been camping before!

Reviewed : July 1, 2014

Ruby campervan North Yorkshire-1219

Christo Thompson

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : July 1, 2014

Christo Thompson

Bedfordshire, UK

Rubys owner is called Helen. Shes an engineer by trade, which i imagine is extremely handy for keeping a beautiful old VW Van in tip-top condition.

Helen communicated very well before the hire, picked us up from the train station, and spent plenty of time talking us through Ruby. The van herself was magnificent. Good looking, mechanically sound, and able to keep going strong through the dales and lakes all in one weekend.

I can heartily recommend both Helen and Ruby to anyone looking for a wonderful camping weekend.

Reviewed : July 1, 2014

Henry-II-0322

Michele Montonati

London, UK

Reviewed : June 29, 2014

Michele Montonati

London, UK

We had the luck to ride Henry II for an amazing weekend in Dorset. It never disappointed us! Reliable, always there to serve and protect, just brilliant!

Reviewed : June 29, 2014

DylanCampervan-1219

Kelly McHenry

Bedfordshire, UK

Reviewed : June 29, 2014

Kelly McHenry

Bedfordshire, UK

We hired Dylan and had a fantastic time in north Wales. The service we received from his owner-Dave was fanatic and the van was fully kitted out with everything you could need. We would highly recommend hiring Dylan!

Reviewed : June 29, 2014

Some Holiday Photos!

Some of the many photos uploaded to Camperbug by our users

A VW T2 Classic Campervan called Haroldinho and Haroldhino for hire in Canterbury, KentA Mercedes Sprinter Campervan called Elena-0620-0720 and for hire in Benfleet, EssexA Roller team Motorhome called BangorNI and for hire in Bangor, DownA VW T3 Campervan called Chas-0321 and On the road! for hire in Brentford, LondonA Other Campervan called Ruby campervan North Yorkshire-1219 and Resting for the night for hire in Topcliffe, Thirsk, North YorkshireA Other Campervan called Richie-1219 and for hire in Hunsdon, HertfordshireA Other Campervan called 1967WeddingSplity-1219 and for hire in Worcester Park, SurreyA VW T2 Brazilian Campervan called Viv and 1 for hire in London, LondonA VW T4 Campervan called BigBlue and Sooty, Big Blue, Alphie & Tourneo for hire in Teignmouth, DevonA Other Campervan called Borisxxx-1219 and Camperbug reviews page for hire in Barnham, West SussexA Other Campervan called Ciara-1219 and Ciara ❤️❤️ for hire in Chatham, KentA VW T1 Splitscreen Campervan called Christian and 3 for hire in Crowland, CambridgeshireA VW T2 Classic Campervan called BettyBlueT2-0620 and 2 for hire in Leighton Buzzard, BedfordshireA Other Campervan called thesplittywestsussex-1219 and Celebrating in style for hire in Shaws Lane, Southwater, West SussexA VW T3 Campervan called maggie-0520 and for hire in Bury St Edmunds, SuffolkA VW T2 Classic Campervan called ScottieDeluxe-0220 and for hire in Guildford, SurreyA Other Campervan called 1988Devon-1219 and for hire in harmondsworth, LondonA Other Campervan called Wanda-1219 and for hire in Hackney, LondonA Other Campervan called toots-t2-manchester-1219 and Waking up next to Bamburgh Castle for hire in Stretford, Greater ManchesterA Other Campervan called CamperVan Wendy-1219 and Wendy for hire in Faversham, KentA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Ronnie and for hire in northam, DevonA VW T2 Classic Campervan called thunder-betty and Camping near Skara Brae for hire in Orkney, Orkney IslandsA Other Campervan called Patsy-1219 and Patsy with her awning for hire in West End, Woking, SurreyA Other Campervan called DaisyDoo-1219 and for hire A VW T2 Classic Campervan called Haroldinho and Harold being packed up ready for adventure. for hire in Canterbury, KentA VW T2 Brazilian Campervan called Roobarb and Near Portmeirion for hire in Malpas, CheshireA VW T5 Campervan called BluT5 and for hire in Sittingbourn, KentA VW T4 Campervan called GeorgeT4-0821 and for hire in Whitstable, KentA VW T5 Campervan called Bodhi and for hire in Windsor, BerkshireA VW T3 Campervan called Florence-0321 and Florence with the best view of Glastonbury for hire in Gillingham, DorsetA Other Campervan called edscamper-1219 and Breakfast in Arnside on Morecombe Bay for hire in Sutton, SurreyA Other Campervan called Wanda-1219 and for hire in Hackney, LondonA Other Campervan called Jimmy-1219 and for hire in Rhosddu Ind Est, Rhosddu. Wrexham, WrexhamA VW T2 Classic Campervan called DorisBay-0322 and for hire in Peene, KentA Other Campervan called Orange Florence-0220 and Florence for hire in Southampton , HampshireA Other Campervan called Cliff-t5silver-1219 and Parked at canal campsite for hire in Cheltenham, GloucestershireA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Tilly-the-camper and for hire A Other Campervan called TobySold-1219 and for hire in Cranham, EssexA VW T5 Campervan called SnowBall and for hire A VW T2 Classic Campervan called Hedgey and Hedgey for hire in Brighton, East SussexA VW T5 Campervan called Manximillion-0722 and Ballaugh Beach for hire A Fiat Campervan called isla and for hire in Edinburgh, EdinburghA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Sandy and for hire in Bristol, SomersetA VW T2 Classic Campervan called thunder-betty and warebeth, mainland view to Hoy for hire in Orkney, Orkney IslandsA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Henry-II-0322 and for hire in London, LondonA VW T5 Campervan called SilverTilly-0221 and Ann Enjoying Lunch for hire in Hull, East YorkshireA VW T5 Campervan called Flo and for hire A VW T2 Classic Campervan called Haroldinho and Harold at Dungeness for hire in Canterbury, KentA Other Campervan called Hettie-1219 and for hire in Nr Dursley, GloucestershireA VW T5 Campervan called mars-0720 and for hire A Other Campervan called florence74-1219 and for hire in Staines, SurreyA VW T6 Campervan called Borris and for hire in Cambridgeshire, CambridgeshireA Other Campervan called Cliff-t5silver-1219 and St David's, Pembrokeshire for hire in Cheltenham, GloucestershireA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Tilly-the-camper and for hire A VW T5 Campervan called Mr-T and for hire in Brampton, CumbriaA VW T6 Campervan called CopperLeaf and Dolly sitting in one of the 2 passenger front seat. Seat rotate so can also face inside. Lots of cab for hire in Milton Keynes, BuckinghamshireA Other Campervan called wynnie-1978-1219 and for hire in Bryn, Greater ManchesterA VW T6 Campervan called Vinnie and for hire in Stockton-on-Tees , North YorkshireA Other Campervan called 1988Devon-1219 and Too cool! for hire in harmondsworth, LondonA VW T6 Campervan called BonnieT6 and for hire in Edinburgh, EdinburghA Ford Campervan called Mascott and for hire in Izmir, TurkeyA VW T5 Campervan called Ellie-1021 and for hire in Darlington, DurhamA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Haroldinho and for hire in Canterbury, KentA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Bertie and for hire in Huddersfield , West YorkshireA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Meghan and Preparing food! for hire in Eltham, SE9, LondonA Other Campervan called ClaraT6-1219 and Just chillin’ for hire A Other Campervan called Ted-1219 and for hire in Dudley, West MidlandsA VW T5 Campervan called RV and for hire in London, LondonA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Ivy-0921 and for hire in Upminster, EssexA VW T2 Classic Campervan called poppy71-0122 and for hire in Norwich, NorfolkA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Begbie and Nice fire pit! for hire in Halifax, West YorkshireA VW T5 Campervan called Flo and for hire A Auto Trail Motorhome called Berti and Collecting Bertie for hire in Wedmore , SomersetA VW T5 Campervan called Bodhi and for hire in Windsor, BerkshireA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Meghan and for hire in Eltham, SE9, LondonA Other Campervan called Sam-1219 and for hire in Roundhay, Leeds, West YorkshireA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Doloras-0421 and Our camping mug! for hire in Edinburgh, ScotlandA Other Campervan called Junior1979-1219 and for hire in New Milton, DorsetA VW T5 Campervan called Vincent and for hire in Lincoln, LincolnshireA Ford Campervan called Mascott and for hire in Izmir, TurkeyA VW T3 Campervan called Dora-0721 and Dora for hire A VW T3 Campervan called Chas-0321 and On our way to Glasto! for hire in Brentford, LondonA Other Campervan called Sydney Camper-1219 and Sydney at Glastonbury for hire in Staines, SurreyA VW T2 Classic Campervan called ColinT2-0521 and for hire in matlock bath, DerbyshireA VW T5 Campervan called Indy-0622 and Indy for hire in Staines, SurreyA VW T5 California Campervan called bluey and for hire in Dersingham , NorfolkA Other Campervan called VW T5 Blackberry Camper-1219 and d for hire in Pentrebach, Merthyr TydfilA Other Campervan called Yogita-1219 and Yogita for hire in Woodley, Stockport, Greater ManchesterA VW T5 Campervan called Flo and Kyle of Tonge, Scotland for hire A Ford Campervan called Mascott and for hire in Izmir, Turkey

Where you went, what you did and what you said

Some of the captions from photos uploaded by Camperbug hirers.

JaniceHaroldhino

LolaOn the road!

KatieResting for the night

Damian1

SarahSooty, Big Blue, Alphie & Tourneo

MichaelCamperbug reviews page

JoannaCiara ❤️❤️

Sarah3

Dominic2

DenniseCelebrating in style

MatthewWaking up next to Bamburgh Castle

SarahWendy

AndrewCamping near Skara Brae

NicholasPatsy with her awning

PeterHarold being packed up ready for adventure.

AndrewNear Portmeirion

JohnFlorence with the best view of Glastonbury

AndyBreakfast in Arnside on Morecombe Bay

HelenFlorence

louiseParked at canal campsite

DavidHedgey

MatthewBallaugh Beach

More reviews