Reviews for Campervan Hendrix

What an amazing road-trip we just had in Hendrix. Such a lovely drive, running smoothly all the way round the coast from Dorset to Bude and back. Stopping off in Dartmoor on our first night, fresh-water swimming at Sharrah Pool the following day. Next stop, Lizard and the beautiful Kynance Cove. We then drove Hendrix up to Padstow and Bude for a few days of surfing. Hendrix drove easily all this way and was the perfect home for the week. We spent each night in a different campsite and found Hendrix perfectly equipped for cooking up a nice meal on the two portable gas hobs. The van is kitted out with everything you need. Will was incredibly helpful and understanding on our trip, immediately answering any questions we had. We already miss driving along in this beautiful Campervan, turning heads and waving at fellow VW drivers. We cannot wait to hire out Hendrix again.

Reviewed July 19, 2021

Sasha Simpson Vanner

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset
A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset
A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset
A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

We had a fabulous time driving Hendrix down to Cornwall Takes an hour of nervous driving to get used to but after that we were pros Sherborne is the ideal location to pick up from on the way from london to cornwall as its already halfway and not really any motorways so not stressful And the van isnt too big to get round the winding country lanes. Will was extremely helpful and gave us an instructions folder, which provided peace of mind. 1010 would recommend and would hire again Lots of admirers on the way For anyone going to cornwall we stayed at the below fab campsitesPadstow Padstow holiday village easy check-in, large grounds with a few pop-up seasonal restaurants which was a great bonus, spotless amenities Lizard Silver Sands v basic but spotless, remote location and a little far from townfun stuff, would visit area but not stay St Ives Polmanter spotless, a heated POOL, restaurant, takeaway, amazing

Reviewed June 1, 2021

Tobias Rothwell

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

We had a fantastic time in Hendrix traveling around Cornwal. Very glad we hired the duo pod along side the camper as this was perfect place to chill out at night.

Reviewed September 28, 2020

kevin michael gleeson


We had Hendrix for one night. A great little campervan

Reviewed September 23, 2020

Maria de Dozsa


We hired Hendrix to celebrate my wifes 40th is a slightly different way. Hendrix was great fun. We loved the slower pace of life a van like Hendrix invites demands you to adopt We pootled about Dorsets coastline for a few days. The kids and grandparents joined us for a day and Hendrix served us well easily taking all our beach stuff, including paddle board, picnic and the usual kids toys. Will was very accommodating and friendly. He was happy to offer advice on where to camp in Dorset. Great fun.

Reviewed September 22, 2020

Adrian Edwards

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset
A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset
A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

We had so much fun road-tripping with Hendrix. We took him to Cornwall and we had a blast Will was really helpful in giving us all the information to run Hendrix at its best and he was really accomodating. Hendrix had all that we needed for 5 days. If youre up to some fun its definitely recommended

Reviewed September 1, 2020

Andrea Battistini

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

Hendrix is bound to put a smile on your face. We took him touring around Cornwall and he exceeded all our expectations. Will was great at explaining all the nuances that go with a vintage van down to the 70s tapes. The dupod was a great addition alongside this Hendrix was really well equipped to help our camping trip run smoothly. Everywhere we went people came over to admire him and someone even gave up a parking space because he was so special. Totally recommend hiring Hendrix we certainly plan to in the future. Thanks Will

Reviewed August 24, 2020

Jenny Hendley

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset
A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

We had such a wonderful 10 days with Hendrix . Lovely van easy to drive and a real HeadTurner. We use the Bell Tent which added some much to comfort and pleasure . After being so stupid in trying tonerectvitvinsidecoutvacseasoned camper put us on the right track and despite its size it really is easy and fast to erect . William was so helpful and answered any queries from us immediately . He also offered advice ahead of times and some places to visit . First class chap . We had a fantastic holiday . Youll have one too

Reviewed August 14, 2020

David Webb


We had the best time hiring Hendrix, the camper van itself is stunning and has everything you need for your trip. We loved the clever design making the most of the space. It is an experience to drive and you soon get used to the quirks! Contact with the owner Will was really easy, a really friendly and informative guy, we would definitely recommend and can’t wait to do it again!

Reviewed July 19, 2020

Beth Walker

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset
A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

Many thanks to Will Henry. We have had a lovely few days in Hendrix, the weather was not always kind and the awnings probably would have been a good idea, but we’ve had lots of fun. Driving Hendrix is great, other road users are delighted to see the camper and everyone want to chat about it.Hendrix drives well and has everything you need for a few days.Will was very generous with our timescales and helpful in all regards. I have no reservations in recommending hiring Hendrix.

Reviewed August 17, 2019

Johann Mowll


We had a fantastic bank holiday weekend in Hendrix who, although over 45 years old, was a real head turner and great fun to drive. Communication with Will couldnt have been easier and we thoroughly enjoyed our time camping on the Jurassic Coast.

Reviewed May 7, 2019

Tracy Bull


We hired Hendrix to visit a festival in Dorset, travelling with our teenagers. Really loved the slow pace of this beautiful vintage van, which attracted admiring glances and waves. Will was very communicative and helpful, before and during the hire, and he rented us bedding and mattresses too, as well as a huge and spacious bell tent (there are photos of this on the hire page, but in reality it seems much larger). Such a luxury to be able to stand up full height and plenty of room for us all. The van has a sink and gas cooker too, which we didnt use as the festival food and drinks were too enticing. We travelled by public transport, via BristolExeter, so Will kindly picked us up at Chetnole station and dropped us back at Yeovil.

Reviewed September 5, 2018

Sharon Thomas


We hired Hendrix for a long weekend break near Swanage with our teenage children and had a brilliant time. Will was very welcoming and took time to introduce Hendrix and all the equipment we could possibly need before helping us to pack everything in. Will was also available at the end of the phone when we had a few questions about Hendrix over the weekend. The Dubpod was great to sleep in and also to store chairs, table, fridge etc. Hendrix was great fun to drive and stay in . We will look forward to hiring Hendrix again. Many thanks.

Reviewed August 26, 2018

Delia Pearce

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Hendrix safely parked in Swanage. for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

We’ve just returned from a 5 day trip with Hendrix and absolutely loved the experience!We drove all the way along the South Coast to Penzance and back without incident and can honestly say it was one of the best holidays we’ve been on!Will, the owner, could not have been more helpful – he was brilliant at communicating with us before, during and after the trip (when it turned out we had inadvertently left some items in the campervan, which he is kindly posting on to us now).Will made handing over Hendrix and explaining the van’s little idiosyncrasies to us very straightforward, giving us just the right amount of information with no fuss. He also picked up the phone immediately when, three days into the trip, I forgot to switch the immobiliser off one morning and phoned him for advice about why Hendrix wouldn’t start – and he was most gracious about my small technical error! We were able to leave our car at Will’s house whilst on the trip with Hendrix.Hendrix is beautifully refurbished and kitted out. The four of us fitted in easily – my wife and I were comfortable on the rock & roll bed loading surface in the back, our seven year old just fitted in the canvas hammock that goes above the front seats and our 9 year old had plenty of room in the single canvas bed in the roof. We really didn’t need the tent, but could see how it would be a nice addition if you decide to stay put for several days, especially if the weather is less than perfect.We really liked the removable gas hob washing up unit (so your campervan doesn’t smell of fried bacon all day!). Will also lent us a brand new chest fridge that runs off the 12V cigarette lighter or an ordinary plug. The pots, pans, plates, cutlery etc. were excellent – there was even a corkscrew! You don’t need to bring anything extra, it’s all in the van. There is also a fabulous adapter that plugs into the cigarette lighter, from which you can charge 4 USB devices and three further cigarette lighter plugs.Those of you who are familiar with VW campervans will know how temperamental the gearboxes can be – not so with Hendrix, whose gears are all easy to find! He is happiest when going at 50 or 60 mph, no faster – which is wonderful, because it makes you slow down and really appreciate the journey itself rather than worrying about getting from A to B as quickly as possible.We can recommend Hendrix and Will unreservedly, and will certainly be back again for some more VW Campervan action!Alex von Roon

Reviewed June 18, 2018

sarah Von roon

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

The teenager inside me was over the moon with our decision to hire Hendrix for a long weekend in Cornwall. Huge tick on my bucket list!We had the most marvellous time trundling around the coast of Cornwall, stopping off at fancy pants restaurants along the way to taste the wonders of Cornwall’s cuisine. Hendrix had no problems with the winding roads and super steep hills. We were very comfortable in Hendrix. And we didn’t need the heater that William had kindly provided just in case! William provided clear instructions and tips on how to get the most out of Hendrix and was on hand to answer any questions, even while we were away.I would thoroughly recommend booking Hendrix for any adventures you have coming up!

Reviewed May 31, 2018

Freya Kingsley

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Ultimate joy for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

Brilliant trip away in Hendrix. Gorgeous to be out in the sun in such a cool camper!Will was very accommodating even when I changed my plans he did everything he could to help me out. Would recommend this experience to anyone!

Reviewed May 21, 2018

Lisa Knowles


We had the best time this summer in Hendrix, he is just a thing of beauty also reliable, great fun and a wonderful VW van. Will was amazingly flexible with pick up and return and gave a great handover in explaining how to get the best from Hendrix we explored all over Dorset and the Cotswolds and loved every minute! Hendrix comfortabley accomodated myself,my husband and our eleven year old twins!

Reviewed August 26, 2017

Sacha Vaughan

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Hendrix at Arne for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

We had a great time in the camper van hired for 24 hours for my Dads 80th Birthday.Will was very helpful and was on hand to ensure that we were aware of how Hendrik started and his little foibles (which you would expect due to his age)We had a great time in the new forest, Will was very relaxed on the time we brought Hendrix back which was really good because as a final surprise we took day and the camper van to visit his brother whom he had not seen for quite a while. Dad was really pleased with his birthday surprise as he has always wanted a camper van but Mum would never allow it (she does not enjoy camping). Thank you will for a great time and I would recommend hiring from Will as he is so helpful and Hendrik is great.

Reviewed August 4, 2017

William Killian


Comments: I am trying to write a review, I have shortened and shortened but still says that is too large??? This is the review "We rented Hendrix for a long weekend to go to Camp Bestival. William, the owner, was great at explaining how things worked and communication was excellent! . All the essentials were supplied and more, William even thought about the fairy lights and the bunting for the festival spirit. All the extras like the awning, sofa and double air mattress were of superior quality.When we arrive to pick up Hendrix, William was a great host providing refreshments for everyone, and allowing us to run through everything with great attention to detail.My only recommendation for future campers would be to go for the awning as well as I think it would make the experience that bit more special." I wanted to add some pics but I cant. Can you please help? Thank you

Reviewed July 31, 2017

noemi lelliott


Camperbug Team,We had a such a happy week in ‘Hendrix’, owned by Will Henry. Being virgins to camper-vanning we didn’t know what to expect and in the endturned out to be both fabulous and awful (weather wise) at the same time. We joyfully travelled the lanes of Devon and going to two camp-sites.Will was fantastic with us, beginning with picking us up at Sherborne station (and returning us there at the end of the holiday), he equipped the vanwith all new bedding and cooking essentials and nothing was too much trouble. ( even posted a couple of items we left behind would you believe). He provided advise and information and was incredibly helpful and warm.People we met in the week wanted to know about ‘Hendrix’ and drew many admiring glances.Being ‘campers’ we wanted this experience and were not disappointed, and have not ruled out another camper-bug journey.Best wishesMike & Pam

Reviewed July 31, 2017

Michael Andrew


A VW T2 Classic Campervan called Hendrix and The Hendrix Experience for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

Facts

VW T2 Classic Campervan in Sherborne, for hire

Age: 25 - 70

Travel: N/A

Sleeps: N/A

Gearbox: N/A

Pets:No

Pictures of Hendrix

Some of the many photos uploaded to Camperbug by our users

A VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Hendrix on tour for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Rear seating for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Removable kitchen pod for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Ultimate joy for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and '72 Westy for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Hendrix at Arne for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and The Hendrix Experience for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Hendrix new cream and beige leather trim for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Rock n Roll bed mode for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Hendrix safely parked in Swanage. for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and for hire in Sherborne, DorsetA VW T2 Classic campervan called Hendrix and Inside the 'Dub Pod' Bell tent for hire in Sherborne, Dorset

Some Holiday Photos!

 See more Camperbug reviews

Some of the many photos uploaded to Camperbug by our users

A Other Campervan called Sydney Camper-1219 and for hire in Staines, SurreyA VW T6 Campervan called Felix and for hire A VW T5 Campervan called Vinny and for hire in Lancashire, Greater ManchesterA Other Campervan called Richie-1219 and for hire in Hunsdon, HertfordshireA VW T4 California Campervan called VwWestfalia-0722 and A rainbow in Arran for hire in Sheffield, South YorkshireA VW T2 Classic Campervan called Winnie-The-Westie and for hire in Canterbury, KentA Other Campervan called VelmaJo-1219 and 2 for hire in Brockham, SurreyA Other Campervan called Flo-1219 and Balck Veil Tribal dancing on the Village Stage for hire in Haverhill, EssexA Other Campervan called Lilly-1973Type2Bay-1219 and Lilly for hire in Uckington, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire