Campervan: Hendrix

Hendrix has 10 reviews

What You Said


Tracy Bull 2019-05-07 14:53:29
We had a fantastic bank holiday weekend in Hendrix who, although over 45 years old, was a real head turner and great fun to drive. Communication with Will couldn\'t have been easier and we thoroughly enjoyed our time camping on the Jurassic Coast.
Sharon Thomas 2018-09-05 09:33:46
We hired Hendrix to visit a festival in Dorset, travelling with our teenagers. Really loved the slow pace of this beautiful vintage van, which attracted admiring glances and waves. Will was very communicative and helpful, before and during the hire, and he rented us bedding and mattresses too, as well as a huge and spacious bell tent (there are photos of this on the hire page, but in reality it seems much larger). Such a luxury to be able to stand up full height and plenty of room for us all. The van has a sink and gas cooker too, which we didn\'t use as the festival food and drinks were too enticing. We travelled by public transport, via Bristol/Exeter, so Will kindly picked us up at Chetnole station and dropped us back at Yeovil.
Delia Pearce 2018-08-26 13:56:20
We hired Hendrix for a long weekend break near Swanage with our teenage children and had a brilliant time. Will was very welcoming and took time to introduce Hendrix and all the equipment we could possibly need before helping us to pack everything in. Will was also available at the end of the phone when we had a few questions about Hendrix over the weekend. The Dubpod was great to sleep in and also to store chairs, table, fridge etc. Hendrix was great fun to drive and stay in . We will look forward to hiring Hendrix again. Many thanks.
sarah Von roon 2018-06-18 09:23:17
We’ve just returned from a 5 day trip with Hendrix and absolutely loved the experience! We drove all the way along the South Coast to Penzance and back without incident and can honestly say it was one of the best holidays we’ve been on! Will, the owner, could not have been more helpful – he was brilliant at communicating with us before, during and after the trip (when it turned out we had inadvertently left some items in the campervan, which he is kindly posting on to us now). Will made handing over Hendrix and explaining the van’s little idiosyncrasies to us very straightforward, giving us just the right amount of information with no fuss. He also picked up the phone immediately when, three days into the trip, I forgot to switch the immobiliser off one morning and phoned him for advice about why Hendrix wouldn’t start – and he was most gracious about my small technical error! We were able to leave our car at Will’s house whilst on the trip with Hendrix. Hendrix is beautifully refurbished and kitted out. The four of us fitted in easily – my wife and I were comfortable on the rock & roll bed / loading surface in the back, our seven year old just fitted in the canvas hammock that goes above the front seats and our 9 year old had plenty of room in the single canvas bed in the roof. We really didn’t need the tent, but could see how it would be a nice addition if you decide to stay put for several days, especially if the weather is less than perfect. We really liked the removable gas hob / washing up unit (so your campervan doesn’t smell of fried bacon all day!). Will also lent us a brand new chest fridge that runs off the 12V cigarette lighter or an ordinary plug. The pots, pans, plates, cutlery etc. were excellent – there was even a corkscrew! You don’t need to bring anything extra, it’s all in the van. There is also a fabulous adapter that plugs into the cigarette lighter, from which you can charge 4 USB devices and three further cigarette lighter plugs. Those of you who are familiar with VW campervans will know how temperamental the gearboxes can be – not so with Hendrix, whose gears are all easy to find! He is happiest when going at 50 or 60 mph, no faster – which is wonderful, because it makes you slow down and really appreciate the journey itself rather than worrying about getting from A to B as quickly as possible. We can recommend Hendrix and Will unreservedly, and will certainly be back again for some more VW Campervan action! Alex von Roon
Freya Kingsley 2018-05-31 18:43:34
The teenager inside me was over the moon with our decision to hire Hendrix for a long weekend in Cornwall. Huge tick on my bucket list! We had the most marvellous time trundling around the coast of Cornwall, stopping off at fancy pants restaurants along the way to taste the wonders of Cornwall’s cuisine. Hendrix had no problems with the winding roads and super steep hills. We were very comfortable in Hendrix. And we didn’t need the heater that William had kindly provided just in case! William provided clear instructions and tips on how to get the most out of Hendrix and was on hand to answer any questions, even while we were away. I would thoroughly recommend booking Hendrix for any adventures you have coming up!
Lisa Knowles 2018-05-21 21:46:29
Brilliant trip away in Hendrix. Gorgeous to be out in the sun in such a cool camper! Will was very accommodating even when I changed my plans he did everything he could to help me out. Would recommend this experience to anyone!
Sacha Vaughan 2017-08-26 08:50:39
We had the best time this summer in Hendrix, he is just a thing of beauty also reliable, great fun and a wonderful VW van. Will was amazingly flexible with pick up and return and gave a great handover in explaining how to get the best from Hendrix we explored all over Dorset and the Cotswolds and loved every minute! Hendrix comfortabley accomodated myself,my husband and our eleven year old twins!
William Killian 2017-08-04 14:42:13
We had a great time in the camper van hired for 24 hours for my Dad\'s 80th Birthday. Will was very helpful and was on hand to ensure that we were aware of how Hendrik started and his little foibles (which you would expect due to his age) We had a great time in the new forest, Will was very relaxed on the time we brought Hendrix back which was really good because as a final surprise we took day and the camper van to visit his brother whom he had not seen for quite a while. Dad was really pleased with his birthday surprise as he has always wanted a camper van but Mum would never allow it (she does not enjoy camping). Thank you will for a great time and I would recommend hiring from Will as he is so helpful and Hendrik is great.
noemi lelliott 2017-07-31 18:08:55
Comments: I am trying to write a review, I have shortened and shortened but still says that is too large??? This is the review \"We rented Hendrix for a long weekend to go to Camp Bestival. William, the owner, was great at explaining how things worked and communication was excellent! . All the essentials were supplied and more, William even thought about the fairy lights and the bunting for the festival spirit. All the extras like the awning, sofa and double air mattress were of superior quality.When we arrive to pick up Hendrix, William was a great host providing refreshments for everyone, and allowing us to run through everything with great attention to detail.My only recommendation for future campers would be to go for the awning as well as I think it would make the experience that bit more special.\" I wanted to add some pics but I cant. Can you please help? Thank you
Michael Andrew 2017-07-31 17:26:35
Camperbug Team, We had a such a happy week in ‘Hendrix’, owned by Will Henry. Being virgins to camper-vanning we didn’t know what to expect and in the end turned out to be both fabulous and awful (weather wise) at the same time. We joyfully travelled the lanes of Devon and going to two camp-sites. Will was fantastic with us, beginning with picking us up at Sherborne station (and returning us there at the end of the holiday), he equipped the van with all new bedding and cooking essentials and nothing was too much trouble. ( even posted a couple of items we left behind would you believe). He provided advise and information and was incredibly helpful and warm. People we met in the week wanted to know about ‘Hendrix’ and drew many admiring glances. Being ‘campers’ we wanted this experience and were not disappointed, and have not ruled out another camper-bug journey. Best wishes Mike & Pam