Campervan: thunder betty

thunder betty has 10 reviews

What You Said


Andrew Knight 2019-08-15 18:40:35
“ThunderBetty” did everything we asked of her, she’s a great vehicle, well equipped, well maintained & she’s photogenic as well. Craig the owner was easy to do business with, informative & had some great travel tips. All in all a fantastic & memorable experience !!!
Pauline Poeze 2019-08-01 08:02:34
We had an awesome time with Thunder Betty. It was wonderful to travel around on Orkney. Definitely the best way to discover the mainland. Everything you need is on board even good advice for the best spots to camp. Craig and Stef are very kind hosts! ( I tried to add some nice pictures, but the website refused already 2 times my review)
Graeme Barker 2019-07-04 14:19:15
My review: \\\"The VW Betty was everything we wanted and gave us some fabulous days wild camping in the Orkneys. I had a VW like this years ago and it was great fun dealing with the original steering and gearbox, together with the new very responsive water-cooled engine. The vehicle is very well fitted out and equipped, and the owner was extremely helpful throughout. Thoroughly recommended!\\\" Yours ever Graeme Barker
Janet Lewis 2017-09-28 12:00:55
Spent a wonderful wild and blustery week in thunder betty exploring Mainland, Hoy and Sanday. She is a comfy characterful van and it\'s always rather reassuring to see her distinctive orange presence in the far distance when out walking. Craig and Steph were lovely friendly and generous owners whose recommendations for wild camping places were spot on and very much appreciated. One gadget that proved particularly useful was the portable usb charger. The public loos in Orkney are brilliant...hot water and even soap which makes life in a camper van much easier. I am only 4\' 11\'\' and found driving thunder betty quite difficult so Andrew had to do all the driving which ment I could enjoy the views. Another practical point is that thunder betty is just under 5m long which means she falls into the cheaper bracket when going on the ferries. Wholeheatedly recommend an adventure with thunder betty. Thank you Craig and Steph.
Laurent Frantz 2017-08-13 13:46:59
Thunderbetty is an amazing campervan, clean, reliable, confortable etc. This is definitely best way to travel around Orkney islands.
Philip Lane 2017-07-29 09:43:26
Thunder Betty was a great way to see Orkney. We will miss waking up on a deserted beach and going for a swim before breakfast, and planning our adventures for the day. Orkney is friendly and welcoming, and Thunder Betty attracted attention and started quite a few conversations. We were sorry to hand her back at the end of the trip. Craig is very friendly and helpful and made the trip work well. We were grateful to be dropped off at the airport, although we didn\'t want to leave. We\'re looking forwards to our next trip.
Andrew McRae 2017-07-10 09:27:53
We rented thunder betty for 5 days and it was such a treat! We drove around the West Mainland of Orkney, taking in the sights and visiting the historic points of Orkney,eating well on the way and checking out the distilleries and breweries too (of course buying drinks for later!). Afterwards we took the ferry to Hoy which was beautiful and then and explored the East mainland; there was so much to do and see! It was tough to give up Betty when it was all over, it\'s very easy to get attached to a Campervan! Craig and his wife were very accommodating with pick up and drop off, and both camping and driving were very fun and comfortable with a bit of getting used to! We were pros by the end of the first day and had a great time camping about the island. All in all, a highly recommended experience.
Luke Beesley 2017-04-22 15:21:59
Craig\'s VW Danbury is great fun, well kitted out and the perfect way to explore Orkney; we loved every minute of it :)
simon dicker 2016-08-10 20:11:00
I spent a wonderful week with Thunder Betty in Orkney and she was perfect company. A mobile artist studio that allowed me to stay in the most amazing of landscapes in comfort and style. The equipment provided (including a handy generator) maps and recommendation of wild camping locations were spot on. Craig the owner was friendly and helpful and I will certainly be coming back for more. **********
Louise Hart 2016-06-22 12:40:28
Thunder Betty is an immaculate vintage VW with a new engine. We spent most of the time ambling around at 40-50 mph and were able to park in some beautiful spots next to sandy beaches with oyster catchers, kittiwakes, plovers and eider duck. The van is well kitted out and has a rock and roll bed which besides being comfortable was big enough for both of us in our sleeping bags (provided) without having to put the roof up. Cooking was fine, the fridge was well cold enough and the van was easy to park and very economical on petrol. Because it is not much bigger than a car it was easy to park in town as well. Something that campers might like to know is that there are many public conveniences in Orkney - they are clean and well maintained and - they are in some beautiful and remote spots - wild camping is allowed as long as you leave the place as you found it. The van itself was a talking point and many people came to admire it. In addition, the owner very generously picked us up from the ferry and delivered me to the car hire place when I was swapping over on the last day. All in all - if you want wildlife, wild locations and to wake up near some of the great Neolithic or Iron Age sites that Orkney is famous for - this is a great way to travel!\" Cheers Lou